Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

NEED ADVICE : Everything to do with starting Motocross

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> Offroad & Supermoto
View previous topic : View next topic  

sammurphy
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 15:22 - 24 Jun 2007    Post subject: NEED ADVICE : Everything to do with starting Motocross Reply with quote

hey , im a newbie and looking to start motocross . i dont have a bike atm but buying one soon , looking at a Honda CR 125 (any good?)

I will be getting licenses and stuff (im 16 , 17 in jan so gotta wait but gives me time to save)

wondering on prices for equipment , track days , parts if needed , everything . wondering how much people pay to do this sport?

I am looking on different sites but not found anything useful. I was gonna start up karting but found out way to much is this gonna be the same kinda thing?

Thanks if you could help ,

saM

G
The Voice of Reason

PostPosted: 17:52 - 24 Jun 2007    Post subject: Re: NEED ADVICE : Everything to do with starting Motocross Reply with quote

You can do motocross fairly cheaply; I don't know the costs involved in karting.

Can you ride a bike as it is? If not, I'd get your CR125 or similar and take it to some rough ground for free or some of farms etc that charge you £5/10 to mess about on their land and get used to it.

From there, I think it's about £30-£40 for a 'track day' at an ok mx site. Tyres are around £80 a set, but you should be ok using part-worn ones if you want to be really cheap.

Servicing isn't too bad on the 125 crossers I believe; pistons and rings once or twice a year should mean not too much money for a 125. You'll need to keep it topped up with good quality 2 stroke pre-mixed which will bump up your fuel bills a bit.