Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Air movement through carb

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

basil_brush
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 19:27 - 24 Dec 2008    Post subject: Air movement through carb Reply with quote

You'll have to bear with me, I'm a novice with mopeds. Perhaps being a masochist, I acquired a beaten up 2002 Peugeot Speedfight 50cc which I have not yet been able to start. The seller said it needed a new carb but I don't know if that's the only problem. I am rather disheartened to see all the internet comments about these 2 strokes being notoriously bad to start in cold weather...looks like I picked the worst time of year to fix a moped.

It turns over fine with electric start and if I put the coil output near the chassis I get what appears to be a healthy spark about 5-10 mm long. But I have a question about airflow. If I place the palm of my hand over the carb mouth I can feel it sucking against my hand, but I can also feel some blowback pushing against my hand. I confirmed this by holding paper over the carb mouth, I can see the paper pushed out repeated with each cycle. Is this normal for a 2 stroke? I'm making an educated guess it isn't and means the reeds are buggered, am I correct?

Pete.
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 21:50 - 24 Dec 2008    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's an engine that has reeds they yes that would indicated a problem. The reed block is usually situated after the carb and is normally quite easy to remove.

132.9mph off and walked away. Gear is good, gear is good, gear is very very good Very Happy
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website You must be logged in to rate posts

Blue_SV650S
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 21:59 - 24 Dec 2008    Post subject: Reply with quote

spit-back is not unusual, excessive spitback means there is somethign wrong!!

Deffo get in there and check the reeds.