Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Glowing Hot Exhaust

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

_matt
Trackday Trickster

PostPosted: 22:33 - 21 Jan 2013    Post subject: Glowing Hot Exhaust Reply with quote

Warmed the bike up (5 mins on choke) for the first time in a few days tonight.
Went back out to switch it off after, pipe that leads from engine to exhaust was glowing red hot (tempreature is -2 outside!).

Bike may have been doing this forever, it might just be today, can't say i've ever noticed it before.

Should it be glowing hot? I presume not since i've not noticed it before....

J.M.
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 22:40 - 21 Jan 2013    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like it's running rather hot to me. I wouldn't like to risk running it like that until I could be sure what it was. I am not an expert by any means though, hopefully someone else will know more.

As a starting point though, have you checked your oil recently? Other thoughts are lean running (although probably not) or more likely considering the temperature, a tight exhaust valve.

_matt
Trackday Trickster

PostPosted: 22:42 - 21 Jan 2013    Post subject: Reply with quote

cheers mate.
Oil was topped up last week with 10w40 semi synthetic (same stuff i usually use).

It's not glowing super bright, just sort of dull orange, but as i said, not something ive noticed before so little concerned

Supermoto_Fan
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 22:58 - 21 Jan 2013    Post subject: Reply with quote

After you topped up/changed the oil did you double check it after a little ride? Sometimes it needs topping back up.

_matt
Trackday Trickster

PostPosted: 23:09 - 21 Jan 2013    Post subject: Reply with quote

unfortunatly, can't really "check" it due to stupid design of tank and the cap literally just being a cap and not a dipstick, just have to drain it out and start over.