Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

First track day advice?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> Racing & Trackdays
View previous topic : View next topic  

BillyJ
Nearly there...

PostPosted: 19:50 - 11 Nov 2014    Post subject: First track day advice? Reply with quote

Hi guys,
I've been really tempted to do a track day recently and was thinking about doing my first one on my Bandit 600.

If I enjoy it enough I would use the Ducati 900ss I've been working on for a few months and put some money into making it slightly more race spec

Questions are:
Do I need a one piece leather suit (I'm off to motorcycle live at the end of November so could pick one up then?)

Do I need special insurance?

Will going there invalidate my current insurance?

Is this a bad idea?

Laughing Thanks in advance

monkeybiker
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 20:02 - 11 Nov 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need a one piece leather suit or a two piece that zips together all around.

You don't need special insurance but can get track day insurance if you feel you want it.

If you crash you can not legally make a claim on your normal everyday insurance.

Just have fun It's not a race just ride at your own pace. Bring a pressure reader for your tyres as you will need to let some air out as they will get hot.

Might be handy to bring a few tools and spare clutch/brake levers.

Again just have fun.

BillyJ
Nearly there...

PostPosted: 21:32 - 11 Nov 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome, thanks for that.

And just don't ever mention it to my insurance company? What are the story's about people from the company coming to track days to check out peoples plates?

G
The Voice of Reason

PostPosted: 22:21 - 11 Nov 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillyJ wrote:

And just don't ever mention it to my insurance company? What are the story's about people from the company coming to track days to check out peoples plates?