Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Kawasaki GPZ500 Custom Cafe Racer Project

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> Show & Tell
View previous topic : View next topic  

MiniMan96
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 17:05 - 02 Mar 2016    Post subject: Kawasaki GPZ500 Custom Cafe Racer Project Reply with quote

Hey all. Im new to this so bare with me. Also this is on a different thread but im just transferring it over to this. I put it in the wrong section like a muppet Embarassed Been pestered to join this for a year by Fladdem but I've been too busy to join... So why not do it at work while I have jack shit to do? Rolling Eyes

Anyways, around Mid September I bought a fully working GPZ550 off my mate (Fladdem) who got it for free. Instead of doing my A2 and riding that I thought "Hell with it. They look awesome cafe racer'd". So to his disgust I stripped it down over a few weekends in the shed and planned what I was going to do with it. My plans were to put a ZXR600 front and rear end on with Upsy Downies and a Ohlins shock from work. After searching eBay I didn't come across any parts within my price range, but I came across a VFR750 single sided swingarm. So I showed my step dad, as he was interested, and passed a comment of "Fuck. I wish I could but a single sided swingarm on mine" to which he responded "Why not? You can make anything fit". So me being me I accepted the challenge and bought the whole rear end (Braided brake line, calliper, disc, swingarm, showa shock, the linkage, CBR wheel with tyre and sprocket) for just £250 with postage.

The next job is to get that fitted (I ran out of time and money due to my shit pay package and busy work life style) so I'm still waiting to fit it to my frame. I've already cut out the rear sets and suspension linkages as they were going to be in the way, so I just need to find a tig welder and fabricate a new suspension mount and rear sets mounting position.