Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Yamaha XSR900 Review

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> Show & Tell
View previous topic : View next topic  

DJP
Crazy Courier

PostPosted: 18:53 - 20 Nov 2016    Post subject: Yamaha XSR900 Review Reply with quote

I've been riding for 30 years and I've ridden pretty much every kind of bike, but these days comfort comes high on my list of wants. I don't like anything under about 700cc and I'm not interested in sports bikes because they don't fit me. But beyond that pretty much anything goes.

I became interested in the Yamaha XSR900 because it ticks the boxes for me. Now frankly, I've never been a fan of the styling: Indeed, the first time I saw one I thought it was possibly the ugliest motorcycle I'd ever seen. But it's growing on me, I can see where Yamaha were going with this and they do look better in the flesh. Besides, I figured that you can't see it when you're on it. So a test ride was arranged.

Now pretty much all modern bikes within my remit do the fast thing, so I'm more interested in how they do the other stuff: The lane-splitting, the filtering, the slow shit. Because I ride in the real world and I wanna know if I can roll-off the throttle for a red light and then roll-on again when it goes green without doing the herky-jerky. I wanna know if it can pull away cleanly without flat-spots or hesitation. Because for me it doesn't matter how good a bike is elsewhere, if the off/on throttle transition sucks then it's off to room 101 regardless.