Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Does this look like a good buy?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat
View previous topic : View next topic  

paulodd
Crazy Courier

PostPosted: 17:02 - 29 Nov 2004    Post subject: Does this look like a good buy? Reply with quote

Hi all,

Zxr400er posted a topic on a ZXR400 in Exchange & Mart selling on eBay and I would like your opinions, as I’m a total novice when it comes to buying bikes, and I have not long been on the road (passed my test but only been on the road for 3months in total) I do not know that much about bigger bikes.

As you might know I’m on a CG125 but am looking to upgrade to a 400 and restrict it pretty soon.

Now to the point of this topic... Does this bike look worth it? And why is it so cheap for everything it has had done to it? What are your opinions on it? The bike is only 7miles away from me and well within my budget.

https://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=4508195535&fromMakeTrack=true

Your help is always much appreciated

Paul
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website You must be logged in to rate posts

instigator
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 17:10 - 29 Nov 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

aye, it does look well used, the paintwork looks very shabby. All really depends on what you want out of the bike - do you want to restore it to its former glory because if you do, then it'll cost you.

zxr400's apparently need engine attention at the 36-40k mile mark. New brake discs will set you back a fair bit, I'd say in between £100-200 for a new set.

its definetely got potential, I LOVE the paint scheme, I nearly bought the same bike myself 2 months back but it was in better condition. Remember, it is a 13 year old bike and its an import so bear that in mind when it comes to parts.