Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Motorbike Mechanics Salary - Not so good?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> Dear Auntie BCF...
View previous topic : View next topic  

Dan 4RR
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 23:51 - 16 Nov 2006    Post subject: Motorbike Mechanics Salary - Not so good? Reply with quote

I was reading 'the grim reaper's' bio yesterday and the following bit stuck out
Quote:
I'm a trained bike mechanic but the crap wages mean that I am staying in my job as an electronic engineer.
But.. why are the wages crap? I've just been looking at some motorbike mechanic jobs on the web and the salary normally starts around £17k and reaches 25k (that was in London, so may differ else where) that seems pretty reasonable in my opinion. Also for example the local bike mechanic seems to do quite nicely for himself, nice brand new Audi parked outside, owns numerous off-road bikes, generally a friendly/reliable person ( he charges £45 per hour for labour, don't know if thats considered high...well thats how much he was charging last time I went it.)

But on the other hand I've spoke to a few people who are very competent in the working of bikes and they said they prefer to work on bikes as a hobby rather than a job because of the workload and crap pay Confused

Anybody else know why bike mechanics are paid so low? Or why the opinion differs so greatly in regards to their salary?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

LustyLew
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 00:09 - 17 Nov 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

£25k per annum in central London? Poor bastard must live in a complete sh*t hole or live in Yorkshire and commute!

G
The Voice of Reason

PostPosted: 00:13 - 17 Nov 2006    Post subject: Re: Motorbike Mechanics Salary - Not so good? Reply with quote