Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Newbie wants to get into green laning

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> Offroad & Supermoto
 Topic moved: from New Bikers to Offroad & Supermoto by G (27 Jan 2008 - 18:02)
View previous topic : View next topic  

Fallout
Two Stroke Sniffer

PostPosted: 17:10 - 27 Jan 2008    Post subject: Newbie wants to get into green laning Reply with quote

Alright chaps? I'm looking for a few suggestions for starter bikes, if you wouldn't mind helping me out. Smile

Me and a mate are looking to get into greenlaning / enduro. He's an experienced biker with a GSXR600 and I'm a fast car man, so a total noob with bikes. We're looking to spend around £1500 and do all the maintenance ourselves, so bikes that aren't pristine aren't a problem. We want the bikes to be road legal, so we're not limited where we go, but they'll be predominantly used for green laning, and not commuting or road use.

As I look round ebay and posts on forums, I see loads of bikes that look the same on paper, but are completely different prices. So far I've sussed Chinese bikes are a no-no, and Huskys are expensive! Anything Japanese seems to be the way to go.

Would you guys mind suggesting a few bikes I can hunt around for that might suit me? The one you would go for in my situation, or any to steer clear of. I'm thinking a 250 for me will be plenty as a noob only riding off road. And I definitely prize reliability and part availability highly.

Cheers in advance for any suggestions. Thumbs Up

Davo
Davo To The Rescue!

PostPosted: 18:33 - 27 Jan 2008    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you got a full bike licence? If so your going to need to get that done first (if your looking at riding anything over a 125cc).

As you've said you will need to be fully road legal to ride green lanes (e.g. taxed, MOT'd and insured).