Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

My Superdream CB250N engine woes!

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

UrbanBadger
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 21:35 - 27 Jun 2009    Post subject: My Superdream CB250N engine woes! Reply with quote

Hello folks,

I'm looking for a few words from the wise! First of all I'm new to the wonders of the motorbike but do know a bit about engines so I'm not completely green.
https://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w73/conneltreble/IMG_0121.jpg

I've done as much research as I can but am at my wits end as I don't feel any closer to getting it fixed.

A few months ago I bought a Honda CB250N. When I first rode it all was good but I went back two days later and there was no spark, after swapping the coil and CDI onto another working bike it was narrowed down to be a faulty generator. I swapped this over from a spares bike I have and it promptly died on the same day! Only ridden twice so far!

I bought a rewound generator (ignition coils only) from www.bbbikeshop.co.uk and also bought a new battery.

After fitting these to the bike it ran but had the following problems which it may have had before but having only ridden it twice I'm not sure! Rode it two work 5 days like this.
- Sometimes it would struggle when up at about 3000rpm (timing advance revs?)
- Won't elec start when hot, it will bump start and sometimes kickstarts.
- Black plugs
- Popping airbox occasionally
- Exhaust backfiring occasionally
- Gunson colour tune plug showed it running rich at high rpm.

Carbs were taken off, stripped and cleaned although to be honest they were surprisingly clean.
- One had a black sooty deposit inside it.
- One idle air needle had an o-ring missing.
- Two float bolt fastener hole threads were stripped
(All of the above were rectified, both idle air screws fully wound in and back out two turns.)