Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

GS500 starting problem

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

G1_
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 20:24 - 15 Dec 2009    Post subject: GS500 starting problem Reply with quote

Hi all,

Over the past month my GS500 has started struggling to start. Since the weekend it wont start at all.

Engine turns over but wont start.

It's a public holiday tomorrow, so the plan is to get it running again. What should I check? Spark plugs? Then?

Is there some logical progression that I can follow?

As you can tell I'm a novice when it comes to bike mechanics but I'm mechanically minded.

Any advice? What tools will I need?

Thanks,
G1_
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website You must be logged in to rate posts

P.
Red Rocket

PostPosted: 23:18 - 15 Dec 2009    Post subject: Reply with quote

My GS is a bitch to start full stop Razz
Turn the fuel switch to "PRI" on mine thats long bit facing down, arrow pointing up.
check the plugs, put choke on about 1/2 way.
keep hold on the starter button and gently open the throttle slightly.

I find that starts mine if she is being a true bitch!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

Bishbash
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 15:11 - 16 Dec 2009    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is probably due to the temperature, mine is the same. Summer time it started on the button, but now, no chance.

Buy a bike cover to help the morning start ups.

Trackday videos - https://www.youtube.com/user/bishbash13
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

temeluchus
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 15:31 - 16 Dec 2009    Post subject: Reply with quote

replace the plugs as a matter of course as they are so cheap.