Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

complete novice - please advise - Piaggio nrg 09

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat
View previous topic : View next topic  

paul777
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 08:36 - 10 Jan 2011    Post subject: complete novice - please advise - Piaggio nrg 09 Reply with quote

Hi all
this is my first post and its also my first scooter, quite late in life but I need something for commuting, I am having lots of fun with the scooter and also learning slowly as i go along.
my question is my oil warning light flashes intermittently, does not stay on constantly,more sporadic,every 20 or 30 seconds, but i have checked the 2 stroke oil and it is topped up,
I do have a small confession to make, i am hoping this is coincidental and is not a factor here, i managed to top up the petrol using my petrol can which was in the shed, i completely forgot that this was the fuel i use for the strimmer and i had put 2 stroke in this earlier,that would probably explain why the scooter was less responsive, I was twisting alot but there was not as much go, lets just say there was alot of throttle movement to get it to pull away,what a plonker i am. hence why i wanted to ask have i damaged the engine in some way or will this clear eventually and is this the reason the oil warning light is flashing sporadically, for anyone that takes the time to respond, i thank you in advance as i appreciate any help or advise with this.

ps. I have since depleted the mix that was in the tank and have 100% petrol in there, strangely enough when there was a mix in tank the oil light did not come on,i did notice there is still a bit smoke from exhaust and bike is still not as responsive as i would want,lol,

kind regard
Paul

27cows
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 20:44 - 10 Jan 2011    Post subject: Reply with quote