Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Yamaha R6 a good idea at 18/19?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Shimmydude
Scooby Slapper

PostPosted: 18:54 - 05 May 2004    Post subject: Yamaha R6 a good idea at 18/19? Reply with quote

Now I know that there’s a thread like this because I created it but it seems to have trailed off into lots of different topics so I thought I would do a new one.

I’m considering doing my driving test but at the same time wondering should I do my motorcycle test instead, sell my NSR and get a Yamaha r6 and have it restricted?

What would you guys recommend? Bear in mind I am a student and have a limited income Very Happy

Sparks!
Sir Tart-a-lot

PostPosted: 18:56 - 05 May 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't restrict it... but yes get one..

mr.z
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 18:57 - 05 May 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go and phone around for some insureance quotes then come back Razz
As far as the bike, theres allot of worse bikes to start on but from cost of running it wouldn't be my first choice, not only that the servicing e.t.c. which would be pricey i'd imagine..

mrchips
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 19:38 - 05 May 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally I would get something like a GPZ500 at that age. Cheaper to buy, insure, still sporty and quick enough for every day riding, and won't cost as much or be the end of the world if you do crash it.

Robby
Dirty Old Man

PostPosted: 20:06 - 05 May 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have no money, don't get an expensive bike.

Get both licences. They are both very useful. Then sell the NSR and get a cheap 4 stroke bike. GPZ500/ER5/CB5/GS5 are all sound choices.

No need to hop up to an R6 right away, you'll still get bored of it in no time and want to hop up to an R1. Space out the boredom a bit.

craigT19