Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

help needed....complete newbie

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers
View previous topic : View next topic  

jonesie-rs125
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 16:01 - 22 May 2004    Post subject: help needed....complete newbie Reply with quote

hey people, i am doing a lot of research before i decided to buy a bike or start taking driving lessons.
it would really help if someone could write up a complete guide to changing gears, revs, and where they are on a bike, i know it probally sounds stupid but i have no idea, cheers.

jonesie

Shaun
Likes 'em bent

PostPosted: 16:02 - 22 May 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

They teach you all of that on the CBT

jonesie-rs125
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 16:04 - 22 May 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have sat my CBT but as im 16 i sat it on a scooter

Shaun
Likes 'em bent

PostPosted: 16:34 - 22 May 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

The best thing to do would be to get intouch with a bike school, explain the situation to them and tell them you'd like to take a few lessons to get used to riding a geared bike! Thumbs Up

jonesie-rs125
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 16:41 - 22 May 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

cheers mate, will do

30sumthin gal
Borekit Bruiser

PostPosted: 20:09 - 22 May 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

as a newbie to bikes too, I was just like you, no idea of how to ride, and no idea to the gears etc. I have been driving cars for 20 years, and I would recommend you do the CBT BEFORE you attempt a car.

I have since become a more considerate car driver, and realise just how important it is to treat bikes with much more respect, no-matter how small / large the engine, or whether it has an engine at all! (pedal cycle!)