BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Newbie advice

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers
View previous topic : View next topic  

MrBurns
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 15:44 - 25 May 2004    Post subject: Newbie advice Reply with quote

I am seriously thinking of getting a bike at the end of this year and would appreciate some advice. Have liked the idea of getting a bike for a while but always dismissed the idea. But now that I am in London and it is looking increasingly likely that my car just won't be practical when I move next year I am considering it all again.

First off I am 22 soon to be 23 and would like to take the direct access test, I have no experience of motorbikes. I notice that a lot of driving schools do intensive courses for this. My first question is do I have to do the CBT and theory seperately prior to this or is it part of the course?

Are there any particularly good schools in London (preferably West) and do they charge more than elsewhere in the country? I could probably take the test in Hull while I am at my parents' house if it was to work out a bit cheaper.

Finally what would people suggest as a first bike? I want something that looks quite good (doesnt have to be a superbike or anything I think the GPZ500s look good) and will handle occasional motorway driving. I want something that is pretty reliable and that can be picked up reasonably cheaply second hand (I wouldn't want to speand more than £2k) and also something that will be cheap (yeah right Rolling Eyes ) to insure.

One other thing is it feasable to ride a bike with a large rucksack (70l or so) on your back? I would want to use the bike to go walking and even if I had boxes on the bike I don't think I would have enough space to carry all I needed.

Any advise would be welcome, I am just researching my options at the moment and trying to cost it all up before I make a decision.

carvell
Scuttler

PostPosted: 15:52 - 25 May 2004    Post subject: Re: Newbie advice Reply with quote