Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums


if I add throttle bike cuts out

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  
Author Message

cainmurphy
Derestricted Danger



Joined: 02 Jan 2014
Karma :

PostPosted: 19:06 - 07 Feb 2014    Post subject: if I add throttle bike cuts out Reply with quote

My bike was rinning fine couple of days ago havent used for few days turned on and started it but as soon as I add any throttle it cuts out and if I pull back a tiny bit it will only rev to a certain amount and die does this mean the auto choke is stuck or is it something else
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

mikesaa309
Traffic Copper



Joined: 10 Nov 2013
Karma :

PostPosted: 19:23 - 07 Feb 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

What bike is it?

On my CBF I had an issue where if I let it idle it will just cut out so I had to keep blipping the throttle for the engine to stay running. Turns out it was the exhaust valve that was too tight. Not sure if it would be a similar thing could be worth checking out.

I presume you're bike is fuel injected as you said auto choke? Depending on the age of the bike might be the injectors clogged up or maybe it is the auto choke. Could also be one of the many sensors a fuel injected bike has.

All I can think of without more information. What bike, age, etc.
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

cainmurphy
Derestricted Danger



Joined: 02 Jan 2014
Karma :

PostPosted: 19:36 - 07 Feb 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a baotian and it's a 2013 plate
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

mikesaa309
Traffic Copper



Joined: 10 Nov 2013
Karma :

PostPosted: 19:40 - 07 Feb 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd check the spark plug in the first instance. Make sure it's the correct one for the scooter and that the gap is right too.
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

cainmurphy
Derestricted Danger



Joined: 02 Jan 2014
Karma :

PostPosted: 20:02 - 07 Feb 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll check it tomorrow and will report back
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

Rogerborg
nimbA



Joined: 26 Oct 2010
Karma :

PostPosted: 20:43 - 07 Feb 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

cainmurphy wrote:
It's a baotian and it's a 2013 plate

So, still under warranty?

Can we skip the usual drip-drip and you just list all of the fiddling that you've done to it.
____________________
Biking is 1/20th as dangerous as horse riding.
GONE: HN125-8, LF-250B, GPz 305, GPZ 500S, Burgman 400 // RIDING: F650GS (800 twin), Royal Enfield Bullet Electra 500 AVL, Ninja 250R because racebike
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message You must be logged in to rate posts

cainmurphy
Derestricted Danger



Joined: 02 Jan 2014
Karma :

PostPosted: 15:12 - 08 Feb 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't worry fixed it took apart carb and cleaned runs fine now
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

mikesaa309
Traffic Copper



Joined: 10 Nov 2013
Karma :

PostPosted: 20:23 - 08 Feb 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

cainmurphy wrote:
Don't worry fixed it took apart carb and cleaned runs fine now


Feel pretty dumb for not knowing you can get auto chokes on carburetors. I was gonna say it had carburetors, clean them out, but as you said auto choke I presumed it was fuel injected. Rolling Eyes
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

flumpy7
Could Be A Chat Bot



Joined: 31 May 2008
Karma :

PostPosted: 20:33 - 08 Feb 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikesaa309 wrote:
cainmurphy wrote:
Don't worry fixed it took apart carb and cleaned runs fine now


Feel pretty dumb for not knowing you can get auto chokes on carburetors. I was gonna say it had carburetors, clean them out, but as you said auto choke I presumed it was fuel injected. Rolling Eyes


At a guess you prob shoudn't be giving workshop advice Thumbs Up
____________________
2012 Sinnis apache
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

mikesaa309
Traffic Copper



Joined: 10 Nov 2013
Karma :

PostPosted: 20:47 - 08 Feb 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

flumpy7 wrote:


At a guess you prob shoudn't be giving workshop advice Thumbs Up


Probably not but I have done every repair on my bike by myself well with help of more experienced people but I have learnt a few things along the way.

Just never heard of an auto choke with carburetors before. I've heard of auto choke with fuel injection and manual choke with carburetors, but not auto choke with carburetors. New one on me :/
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

YBR Ric
Spanner Monkey



Joined: 16 Jan 2012
Karma :

PostPosted: 23:17 - 08 Feb 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would have guessed on water in the bottom of the float bowl blocking the mains circuit, removed upon cleansing.

Fortunately some manufacturers still fit drain plugs which remove contaminant from the very bottom of the bowl without needing anything more than the use of a simple screwdriver. If this occurs again and your carb has a drain plug, try this easy option first.
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message You must be logged in to rate posts

DMCpro
Traffic Copper



Joined: 16 Jul 2012
Karma :

PostPosted: 23:52 - 08 Feb 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikesaa309 wrote:
flumpy7 wrote:


At a guess you prob shoudn't be giving workshop advice Thumbs Up


Probably not but I have done every repair on my bike by myself well with help of more experienced people but I have learnt a few things along the way.

Just never heard of an auto choke with carburetors before. I've heard of auto choke with fuel injection and manual choke with carburetors, but not auto choke with carburetors. New one on me :/



You get manual "choke" or fast idle on some fuel injected machines aswell
____________________
Honda CB-1, TS125X
VW Golf Estate
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

YBR Ric
Spanner Monkey



Joined: 16 Jan 2012
Karma :

PostPosted: 10:38 - 09 Feb 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

DMCpro wrote:
You get manual "choke" or fast idle on some fuel injected machines aswell


I have one on my Triumph, factory fitted to enhance that feeling of nostalgia, right before you press the start button Rolling Eyes
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message You must be logged in to rate posts

Polarbear
Super Spammer



Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Karma :

PostPosted: 11:52 - 09 Feb 2014    Post subject: Reply with quote

YBR Ric wrote:
DMCpro wrote:
You get manual "choke" or fast idle on some fuel injected machines aswell


I have one on my Triumph, factory fitted to enhance that feeling of nostalgia, right before you press the start button Rolling Eyes


Gen 1 Hayabusas have an imitation choke (fast idle) as well. I used to use it on the motorway as a simple cruise control!!
____________________
Triumph Trophy Launch Edition
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts
Old Thread Alert!

The last post was made 6 years, 293 days ago. Instead of replying here, would creating a new thread be more useful?
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Read the Terms of Use! - Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
 

Debug Mode: ON - Server: enterprise (www) - Page Generation Time: 0.18 Sec - Server Load: 1.01 - MySQL Queries: 17 - CDN Objects: 42 - Page Size: 85.27 Kb