Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Help needed from some experienced old heads :)

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Stewdog
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 20:58 - 06 Jan 2016    Post subject: Help needed from some experienced old heads :) Reply with quote

Evening gentlemen, I need some advice...

I'm currently commuting from West Malling to Camden every day via train at a cost of £4150 a year and wanted to look at potentially ticking learning to ride off the bucket list and saving some money to boot.

On first glance it looks like a 35ish mile journey each way.

Currently door to door I'm doing 2 to 230 hours each way with the train.

What I'm trying to work out is with the cost of the bike, decent clothes , CBT and gas will I be better off switching both in terms of time and money?

I've been driving accident free for 15 years (touch wood) but come from a family of scooter nuts so wanted to scratch the itch (my preference would be a bike over a scooter, as I'm never a mod Smile)

So guys, Im not one to go into anything without asking sensible questions and I bow to your superior experience and knowledge.

1. Is it feasible / cost effective?
2. Am I gonna shit myself constantly?
3. Does anyone else do that sort of journey into town.
4. The fun question I've no clue on bikes any advice on where and what to look at?

Thank you all in advance, it feels abit cringey to ask what probabl seem as ridiculously obvious questions.

Btw it would be four days a week and I only need to get to the office at 10am

Cheers stew

Tierbirdy
Spanner Monkey

PostPosted: 21:16 - 06 Jan 2016    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its doable, but looking at google maps whether it would be much of a saving or not I dont know.

Google seems to imply its a 42 mile trip via the M20, longer if you avoid Mways.