Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Accident During CBT

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Spiltink
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 13:38 - 13 Dec 2016    Post subject: Accident During CBT Reply with quote

Hi guys,

So I did my CBT on Sunday, in the early part of the day I came off the bike. I carried on until the end but my foot was getting more and more painful. Went to the hospital on Monday and my foot is broken in several places. I work in construction, so obviously I can't work now, which means no wages for at least six weeks. Should the company I did the CBT with have insurance to cover this sort of thing? They were nice guys, but six weeks wages is a lot of money for me and a drop in the ocean for insurance companies...

All advice gratefully accepted.

Kev
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

arry
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 13:43 - 13 Dec 2016    Post subject: Re: Accident During CBT Reply with quote

Spiltink wrote:
Should the company I did the CBT with have insurance to cover this sort of thing?

They will have a public liability policy and a road traffic act policy. Neither of them will respond to you unless the school are legally liable to you in tort (negligence) or breach of statutory duty.

If there's allegations of negligence then you've some chance of an award, but it wouldn't be next week you'd be getting any kind of payout. More like next year. Or possibly the year after.

If there's no allegation of negligence and you've dropped the bike yourself whilst undertaking an inherently risky activity - then it's all on you, and you're getting (quite rightly) nothing.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

Ste
Not Work Safe

PostPosted: 13:51 - 13 Dec 2016    Post subject: Reply with quote

What happened?

doggone
World Chat Champion