Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Riding in very slow, nearly stopped traffic

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers
View previous topic : View next topic  

IggyT
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 17:12 - 22 Dec 2016    Post subject: Riding in very slow, nearly stopped traffic Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm new to biking and use a YBR 125 to commute to and from work.
There is a stretch of road that is often moving extremely slowly, to the point I can't balance with out putting my foot down, but fast enough to only need to stop occasionally, there is no chance to overtake.

I'd like to know how other people deal with this type of traffic?.
Currently I leave my left leg off the peg ready for putting down and get better balance. Then I use my right foot to operate the rear brake to slow the bike and let traffic behind me know I'm braking.
Is only using the rear brake ok, in terms of a test situation, to stop the bike at very slow speeds.

Cheers.
Iggy.

155mph
Nova Slayer

PostPosted: 17:19 - 22 Dec 2016    Post subject: How slow is slow? Reply with quote

Part of your MOD1 is to ride at walking pace.

IggyT
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 17:23 - 22 Dec 2016    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is slower than walking pace. It's barely rolling pace.

stinkwheel
Bovine Proctologist

PostPosted: 17:26 - 22 Dec 2016    Post subject: Re: Riding in very slow, nearly stopped traffic Reply with quote

IggyT wrote:

I'd like to know how other people deal with this type of traffic?.
Currently I leave my left leg off the peg ready for putting down and get better balance. Then I use my right foot to operate the rear brake to slow the bike and let traffic behind me know I'm braking.
Is only using the rear brake ok, in terms of a test situation, to stop the bike at very slow speeds.