Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Long distance bike trip planned, no experience

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Ambitiousdrea...
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 20:56 - 22 Dec 2016    Post subject: Long distance bike trip planned, no experience Reply with quote

Hey, apologies if this is in the wrong forum,

I have a life goal of driving a motorcycle from Alaska-San Diego, and i'd like to keep the option open to extending this trip down through Central America.

I'm looking to start putting this plan into place, my only problem is I have no motorcycle experience Smile, I do have 2 years of moped experience, whilst i'm aware this likely pales in comparison to the task of riding a motorcycle, I feel it sets me at an advantage to a complete beginner.

In an ideal world, id love to do the trip on a Triumph Bonneville T100, for no other real reason as I love the look of it, it also doesnt appear to be 'too' powerful. I understand that there is a good chance these bikes are not set up for those kind of journeys, or I wont be able to pick one up in Alaska, so if someone could suggest a more suitable bike, or give the go ahead on the Bonneville, it would be appreciated.

Other questions are,

- Assuming I purchase the Bike in Alaska, does anyone have any experience of what paperwork, etc, id have to fill out as a UK citizen?

- Is it possible to drive over the border into Canada/back into USA without much hassle? Ive crossed the border previously in a rental car but it was several years ago and forget the experience.

- Is there any problems with buying/riding a motorcycle with just a UK driving licence?

Any help appreciated,

Thanks.

ADSrox0r
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 21:50 - 22 Dec 2016    Post subject: Re: Long distance bike trip planned, no experience Reply with quote

Ambitiousdream wrote: