Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Honda nsr 125 r electric problems

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

GraemeD
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 21:06 - 23 Dec 2016    Post subject: Honda nsr 125 r electric problems Reply with quote

How's it going everyone I'm new to the forum and I'm afraid I need a bit of help straight away. I'm new to biking also and chose the nsr as my first bike and have been on her for a little less than a year. She was a fixer upper and has had her problems but nothing I couldn't figure out or find on forums like this one. I had her perfect. Until.

She had a couple of smacks a while back when I was in a cocky learner stage and all the fairings on one side got wrecked along with the crank seal and exhaust. I was driving along a week or 2 later and the engine gave up.

I ended up buying a spare bike for parts and replaced the engine with all extras still attached, clocks, indicators, headlights. She was hard on the eye but electronically and mechanically perfect again other than being very smokey when first started (still a small bit too smokey) and the power valve didn't seem to open up around 8000 like it used to, was more like it opened low 3 or 4000rpm

My current issue is a proper head scratcher. After weeks of happy riding I noticed my indicators weren't working when I had the throttle open with the revs over 5000rpm. They work fine when bike is idling. Then I noticed that the neutral light comes on every time I pull the clutch in half way. The indicators got worse to the point where I wasn't comfortable driving in traffic etc so here's what I've tried.

-Brand new battery and flasher relay (under the seat)
-Every other relay I could find under the tank
-The lights/indicators/ horn switch on the handlebars
-Clutch lever/switch
-Installed ignition (was joining wires until I got key cut)