Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

roundabouts/cornering

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

deeds33
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 21:58 - 16 Jan 2017    Post subject: roundabouts/cornering Reply with quote

Hi
So, Im new to riding and to top it all , my bike got stolen after 10 weeks of riding. I test rode a street triple at the weekend (previous bike was a KTM RC390) and I had forgotten how shocking I am at leaning the bike - notably so on roundabouts, and on the odd corner - I understand counter steering but also think my brain is approaching the limit of thinking I'm going to fall off.
How do you guys and gals get around this - I know that the bike will go so much further than I let it...

notabikeranym...
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 22:05 - 16 Jan 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't whack on throttle or brakes in the corner and you'll be fine. Too much input for the conditions is what makes you lose traction. You have a limit on your tyres for braking, accelerating, and leaning over. Too much of any of these and you can slip.

Just look where you wanna go and you'll end up there so long as you don't fight the bike. This means grip tank with knees etc, loose on handlebars.

You should be able to wiggle your arms and have a light touch on the handlebar grips.

Also if you think you're approaching the limit of your cornering ability, slow down. Who cares if someone else can do it quicker, you aren't racing, just be smooth and get round the corner. General consensus for cornering properly is slow entry, faster exit, progressively throttle on throughout corner.

Also watch Twist of the Wrist 2. Explains everything.

Then in summer when its nice and hot absolutely slam it into every single corner at full pelt.

andym
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 22:39 - 16 Jan 2017    Post subject: Re: roundabouts/cornering Reply with quote