Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

CBF125 '14 Refusing to start

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

ScuttleMonkey
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 23:37 - 29 Jan 2017    Post subject: CBF125 '14 Refusing to start Reply with quote

Hello people,

I'm relatively new to riding and am experiencing an issue with my bike. It's a 2014 CBF125 and has done 850 miles. Only had 600 miles when I bought it.

So anyway my problem is this, prior to Christmas I had no issues whatsoever. But now, after not riding it for a few weeks due to weather, I can't get it to start.

A week ago I started it up for the first time and left it idling while I put my gear on, after a few minutes it just cut out. Tried restarting, engine turned over but no start. Shook and rocked the bike, tried again and it fired up fine; got me to work and back with no problem.

Now this week, when I got my bike out for the second time since Christmas, started it up again no problem and then after a couple of minutes it cut out - difference this time is I have been unable to get it going again - engine turns over but no start.

My problem analysis so far:

Battery voltage is reading 12.42V

Yes, there is fuel

Fuel pump is priming on ignition on

No spark when cranking

I don't believe there is any current from HT lead to ground

Can smell fuel in cylinder when cranking with spark plug out

I was able to bump start it, but as soon as I let the revs drop it stalled. Was unable to bump start it again, most likely due to exhaustion!

I haven't yet monitored the battery voltage during turn over so I might try that tomorrow. But apart from that I am at a complete loss and would appreciate any advice anyone has to offer!

Many Thanks,
Nick

Bozzy
Traffic Copper

PostPosted: 23:49 - 29 Jan 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote