Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Employment: Going from public to private sector (Finance)

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> Dear Auntie BCF... Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Az
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 19:08 - 21 Feb 2017    Post subject: Employment: Going from public to private sector (Finance) Reply with quote

I currently work in the public sector (for a non-departmental government body).

I didn't apply for jobs specifically in the public sector, just ends up that I got offered one here when I was looking for apprenticeships after sixth form (when I was 18 going on 19). At the time (and they still do) my employer offered some cool little benefits; healthcare package (£200 towards glasses, £300 towards dental care, etc etc), flexible working hours and at the time a good wage for an Apprentice (just shy of a grand month as an Apprentice).

Fast forward almost 3 years, i'm no longer an apprentice. I'm now an Assistant Accountant/Finance Officer with a relatively stressful job and I want to move jobs.

So, why do I want to move jobs?

For two reasons; pay and progression.

The benefits I receive at work I can easily live without, as I rarely use them anyway.

Where I currently work it's hard to progress as not many people leave their roles, consequently not many roles become available to progress into. As the benefits (especially flexible working hours and the general laid back approach here being a non-profit organisation) means the majority of people I work along side have worked here for a lengthy period of time with no intention of leaving soon (e.g. my manager's been here 9 years and my co-worker's 7 & 5 years respectively).