Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Gilera DNA 125 cuts out when revved...

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

Heterochromic_bikergal
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 15:23 - 20 Mar 2017    Post subject: Gilera DNA 125 cuts out when revved... Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

I'm a biking newbie, and I've recently got my first bike (the Gilera DNA 125cc) but frustratingly, I haven't been able to ride it yet as I've run into a problem. When I start the bike everything seems okay until I use the throttle and rev it, then it just cuts out and switches off.

Does anyone have any ideas as to what the problem might be? Any help would be much appreciated, thank you!

Rogerborg
nimbA

PostPosted: 15:38 - 20 Mar 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

The root cause is that those, uh, "bikes" got passed around a succession of 17 year olds who thought maintenance meant splashing some fuel in, or drilling holes in the exhaust.

Help us to help you. What's the history of the "bike"; are there any obvious modifications to it; what (if anything) have you done to diagnose it.

Can you push it freely by hand?

Does the behaviour change if you let it warm up for a while?

Heterochromic_bikergal
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 12:07 - 23 Mar 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rogerborg wrote:
The root cause is that those, uh, "bikes" got passed around a succession of 17 year olds who thought maintenance meant splashing some fuel in, or drilling holes in the exhaust.

Help us to help you. What's the history of the "bike"; are there any obvious modifications to it; what (if anything) have you done to diagnose it.

Can you push it freely by hand?

Does the behaviour change if you let it warm up for a while?

Thanks for the quick response, and apologies for my delay, yeah that's true albeit annoying!