Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

How To Progress

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

LongRoad
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 12:06 - 02 Apr 2017    Post subject: How To Progress Reply with quote

Hello!

I started learning last year but due to my own baws up (grabbing front brake), ended up coming off the bike. I never completed my CBT then but decided to go back to it and completed the off road stuff plus just over an hour of on road yesterday. Have to go back next week where I'll hopefully finish it off.

Coming off last year really knocked me and I lost any confidence I did have. I do want to do my full A license & I really enjoyed being out on the road yesterday, even if it was pootling about in city centre style traffic. The time flew by. I still felt a bit nervous going out yesterday, but I did enjoy it when I was out. I know next week will be the dual carriageway / country roads riding, which fills me with a little trepidation but I'm looking forward to it. Confidence (and obviously experience), is the main thing I'm lacking after I came off.

Once I complete my CBT, would I be better buying a 125cc and trying to get more road experience / confidence or progress straight on to the A license?

Thanks in advance.

bamt
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 13:09 - 02 Apr 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

To be honest, the dual carriageway and country roads riding should be easier and more enjoyable than the around town bits you've been doing.

See how you feel after next week. You'll probably find the riding easier (as your brain has had time to process stuff and you'll be less tired - CBT is a long day), then have a word with your instructor.

The advantages of going straight to A are:-
You don't pick up bad habits riding on your own