Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

New Rider - Milton Keynes

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

MrCawdell
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 13:33 - 07 Apr 2017    Post subject: New Rider - Milton Keynes Reply with quote

Good afternoon everyone,

New to the forums today.

I've been pondering about getting a bike license for some years now but being only 24 I decided to leave it until now so I could get on with the Direct Access.

I've got very little experience on a bike, and by that I mean a few laps around a car park on a moped at 16!

Would anyone recommend a company in or around the area where I can take the DAS on weekends? Only weekends available due to no holiday at work.

Also, how long does it take to get a test booked in? Ive only experience with a car (been driving 7 years) and that took a few months.

Would anyone also advise on a rough cost of the DAS and what kind of bikes I should be looking at to start with?

It will be purely for pleasure, as I drive a company car day in day out I wanted to get a bike to use outside work just to change things up a bit as being stuck in a car all day certainly drives you crazy!

Look forward to hearing from you guys!

Rogerborg
nimbA

PostPosted: 14:11 - 07 Apr 2017    Post subject: Re: New Rider - Milton Keynes Reply with quote

MrCawdell wrote:
All advise taken gratefully!

https://blog.dictionary.com/advice-vs-advise/

How much is costs is how long it takes is how well you get on with it.

First step is to get a CBT booked. Be aware that it's not a 1 day course, it's as long as it takes to get to a minimal standard of competence. Cost in extra half days or days.

Tell that you're thinking of doing a course with them and see if you can blag a go on a 600+ training bike at the end of it - it'll be an eye opener after the 125.