Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Automatic Motorcycle vs Automatic Scooter - HELP/ADVICE?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

jazzinspace
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 11:46 - 15 May 2017    Post subject: Automatic Motorcycle vs Automatic Scooter - HELP/ADVICE? Reply with quote

I live in Camberwell (zone 2) in london.
I want a bike to commute to bank with every day.

The main question buzzing around my head for the last few weeks is whether I should go for a Honda NC750X DCT or Vespa GTS Super 300.

I have very little experience as a motorist in london but I'm completing my full licence in a week and I have a crappy 125cc manual bike that I hate using in the 'stop-and-start' traffic jams of rush hour.

NC750X
I was attracted to the idea of a bit more power and the masculinity of the NC750X. I am worried by the large height and weight (230kg) of the bike, Filtering through really tight roads and traffic jams seems like a regular experience for me and I have barely had a chance to go faster than 35mph.

Vespa 300 GTS Super
I find it a bit girly. I like the fact that it weighs less (158kg) and has a lower centre of gravity for those moments where you have to put a foot down and change lane in standstill traffic or squeeze through some gap.

Help me with your thoughts!

Rogerborg
nimbA

PostPosted: 12:42 - 15 May 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm an advocate of the minimum bike for the purpose, and while my commute is nothing like a London grind, I'd rather have automatic than manual. I couldn't fault the efficiency of my Burgman, but it was just so dull.

How crappy is your 125? My air cooled CG-copy had issues finding neutral when it was hot, even with fresh oil, which made it a bit of a fuss in traffic.

No such problems with my GS or Ninja. The Ninja's clutch and gearbox in particular are so light that it feels almost telepathic.