Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Dropped it :( DIY vs garage?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

Zoo chick
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 12:26 - 21 May 2017    Post subject: Dropped it :( DIY vs garage? Reply with quote

Hello! Does anyone have any advice on DIY repair vs garage? I dropped my scooter on a gravelly bend. I luckily flew right off into some grass, but my bike is pretty badly scratched (some photos attached - there is wayyy more).

I went to a Honda garage to assess it and it's mechanically fine, but they've quoted me a ridiculous £2k to restore it to it's original glory because so many parts are affected.

I don't want to go through insurance so I'm looking at replacing the really cracked/ damaged bits, trying to fix the rest myself (I love a good project but I've never done it myself before) and living with a few small imperfections. I'm not selling the bike anytime soon.

Is it DIYable?

Moo.
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 12:32 - 21 May 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

eBay is your friend. Find the right panels and fit yourself. Job jobbed. £2k is ridiculous

NJD
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 12:37 - 21 May 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

wrote:
and it's mechanically fine

Well then providing it rides straight and runs as it should ignore whatever scratches you've picked up and crack on with riding the thing.

wrote:
Is it DIYable?

Replacing panels by removing whatever holds them in place to replace them with a like for like one ordered from eBay, Wemoto, Fowlers or many other sources? Sure. Only the same way it was put together without the need to pay "totes offical Honda prices," of which most would just be labour costs and overheads.

I'd advise never walking into a Honda again. Go somewhere smaller and well reviewed locally to you. It's like entertaining taking my many year old Kwak to the closest dealer, it's suicide.