Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Shiny Helmets......... or not

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

rpsmith79
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 09:48 - 21 Jun 2017    Post subject: Shiny Helmets......... or not Reply with quote

This may seem like an odd question, but as it is a reasonably expensive purchase, i want to make sure i get it right

Long story short, i have been looking for a new helmet for some time as i seem to have a very oddly shaped head (size XL but also very long oval) and i have finally found a helmet that seems to fit well (albeit for a short period of time when worn in a shop)

The helmet in question is the Shark SKWAL/D-SKWAL, but this then raises another problem, and that is colour scheme

I'm guessing most people match they helmet colour to their bike, but as i am still learning, i haven't got a big bike to match it too, so i'm thinking of just buying a black helmet, but i like the look of the Matt Black option

So my question is, is a Matt Black helmet any better/worse to look after than a shiny helmet, so they scuff easily and look tired an old before their time

Any opinions welcomed

chrisdubya
Scooby Slapper

PostPosted: 09:56 - 21 Jun 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cant help you with colour but 2 people I know have had issues with the visor clips breaking on their Skwals - a common issue it seems.

Also, dont match your kit to your bike - unless you've got loads of money to buy new kit whenever you change bike, or always go for the same colour...

DRZ4Hunned
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 10:01 - 21 Jun 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whenever I see someone with all matching kit like a power ranger, I think it looks a bit sad if anything. Then you're tied down if you want to change bikes.