Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Honda CD200 TA Benly .....Electric's

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

Aberdale Matt
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 15:44 - 23 Jun 2017    Post subject: Honda CD200 TA Benly .....Electric's Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I am a total newbie to the site and have just bought a genuine under 5000 mile 79 Benly which I am now trying to get back up and working and need a bit of help advice / ideas.

Picked it up three days ago clutch seized through standing and lack of use sold as non runner as electrics were also playing up. Switch on and ignition light comes on however press starter and everything dims/ wouldn't start on kick start either - owner had replaced battery and last time bike was used was 2015 when owner clocked a total of 250 miles in six month stopped using as it kept conking out when slow running etc.

NOW THE QUESTION.........in order to show that the engine was running fine he somehow supplemented the power to the ignition by removing the black power feed to the indicator flasher unit and connected it via a simple on / off switch to the battery adding another separate power feed to the flasher unit.

Result of this was if he turned ignition on by itself same thing as before but if he switched on the additional power source green ignition light was brighter and engine started both on electric and kick start first time!.....It would also run direct from the additional power source with ignition key off.........To get lights etc working you had to use ignition key. All electrics worked ok although winkers now a bit fast and headlight dimmed in unison with flasher unit.

How has he managed to get it running?