Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Bike advice for a newcomer

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

clarkeb
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 15:22 - 21 Aug 2017    Post subject: Bike advice for a newcomer Reply with quote

I am new to riding and am looking to purchase my first bike and have settled on a Honda CBR125. I plan on having it for 6-12 months to gain some riding experience before moving on to my full licence.

At this stage i don't want to spend too much money on a 125 that i'm not going to have for too long (probably). I have found two, however am unsure which would be better so advice would be appreciated.

Option 1 is an 05 with 42k on the clock thats had a fair amount of work done this year as he said the health check didn't have good results. It will be getting new spark plug too. MOT due mid Jan 18.
Option 2 is an 08 with about 30k on the clock (2 owners). Currently unsure of its service history but am told there is lots of paperwork and has had lots of services. Passed an MOT last week with no problems.

Both asking for 1k ono.

Do i go for the newer, less mileage and recently MOT'd, or do i go with the older and more mileage but lots of work been done?

Thanks for any help in advance.

Last edited by clarkeb on 15:39 - 21 Aug 2017; edited 1 time in total

Evil Hans
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 15:38 - 21 Aug 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

Without knowing how much they are asking for them the answer might be

1, 2, Neither or Both!

Also ....

Yamaha YBR

Wink

clarkeb
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 15:40 - 21 Aug 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fair enough, OP edited :)
I did consider the Yamaha but was told the Honda is a bit bigger...im fairly tall.

Rogerborg
nimbA

PostPosted: 15:44 - 21 Aug 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahoy and welcome.

Typing fast to get InB4 your ritual Teffing.