Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Any tips or advice for a new rider?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Sweetpeabike
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 18:21 - 11 Oct 2017    Post subject: Any tips or advice for a new rider? Reply with quote

Hey everyone. I am new to riding and recently purchased a CBF 125 and slowing expanding out of my local area of Romsey.

I was wondering if anyone could give me some essential tips on general riding, and on traveling during heavy traffic as I have not started to filter yet? Should I place myself in a central position on the road or more to the left or right of a car while queuing/standstill?

Thanks.

Holly

Howling Terror
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 18:35 - 11 Oct 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

Position for safety and position for the best view works in all situations.

As for slow riding, practice it. Try the different methods i.e clutch slipping, or drag a little rear brake. I use the rear brake quite a bit when taking a pillion or loaded up..keeps the bike stable and useful when coming to a stop at junctions.

Don't be in a rush to filter until you can ride slow and smooth and when you do filter keep your senses working and no need to rush.......yet. Wink
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website You must be logged in to rate posts

Sweetpeabike
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 19:48 - 11 Oct 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been working on clutch control and slow moments lately so hopefully I'll see a improvement soon, thank you for the advice Smile

pinkyfloyd
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 21:31 - 11 Oct 2017    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree with HT.

Take your time to get to know your bike. Position yourself to be seen and so you can see On the CBT you are taught middle of the lane at all times, sometimes this is not practical. Especially in heavy traffic