Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Any plumbers on here, or someone in the know?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> Random Banter Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Gazz
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 15:36 - 07 Jan 2018    Post subject: Any plumbers on here, or someone in the know? Reply with quote

I'll try and be as brief as I can with this post and summarise accordingly to reduce reading. I have no experience of plumber or anything like that.

Basically last year we had water dripping from our gutter. Before we could get a ladder it stopped and my neighbour informed us that it was the overflow pipe and that he been up at it and had bent the pipe on the roof upwards slightly to stop it dripping but we'd need to get a plumber.

So we got a plumber who told us that the ballcock was needing replaced in the cold water tank so he replaced that, so all was good.

However since the cold weather has been here, the gutter has started to drip again at the same bit which I'm assuming is ice blocking the gutter and the cold water coming out of the overflow and not having anywhere to go; except over the side of the gutter

*I should also mention that I got a ladder and cleaned the gutter out during the summer (it wasn't bad).

In addition to this, the other night i heard a dripping noise coming from the loft. To satisfy my paranoia, I went up the loft to investigate. Everything seems fine to the untrained eye (nothing was wet), but when I looked inside the water tank, it looks like water is coming in to the tank in a constant drip, drip, drip and is leaking straight back out the overflow pipe? (Example: one drip coming in, one drip going straight out due to the water level being at its highest due to the overflow pipe level).

Is this the way that these things work?

Seems like a waste of water to me if it is? Or do I need to get the plumber back out again?