Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Thinking of quitting

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

LIB3RTY
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 20:20 - 23 Jan 2018    Post subject: Thinking of quitting Reply with quote

Hey everyone, hope you are all well.

So as the title says, I am thinking of quitting motorbiking. I first started looking into riding because my life felt like it needed a jolt of something, some excitement and new experiences.

I started learning in the Summer of 2016 and I enjoyed it at first. Shortly after I began I developed some serious health problems though that forced me to take some time off and return to it at a later date. Before this however I managed to pass my Mod 1. Well, I came back to riding in the late summer of 2017 and since then I have failed my Mod 2 a grand total of 6 times.

Truth be told, I don't get any thrill from riding anymore. In fact, I am bored out of my mind even at 70mph. Considering this and the amount of money I have thrown into learning so far (£3000+ including gear) I just get depressed at the thought of booking another Mod 2.

Lately I've been pretty close a few times to just throwing my gear into the wheelie bin and saying "sod it" and cutting my losses. I am not doing too well financially, my business took a terrible hit last year and I'm struggling to recover. At the same time I am supposed to be saving for a Mortgage so I am very conscious of every penny that leaves my bank/wallet.

I guess what I want to ask is, should I keep trying for my license despite my circumstances or should I just cut my losses and move on? I mean, I currently don't enjoy riding at all but I don't know if that would change if I got my license and was able to ride on my own? I only have until July until my 2 years is up and if I wanted to get back into it after that I'd be starting from scratch.