Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Why do Insurers hate me...I urgently need advice

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Big8lack
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 19:09 - 25 Jan 2018    Post subject: Why do Insurers hate me...I urgently need advice Reply with quote

Here's a bit about me just for some context:
So I'm 6ft6, 36" inseam. I turned 21 in December 2017, I've been riding since February 2016. I have owned/currently still own a 2009 Honda XL Varadero 125(the only respectable 125 that fits me). I passed my progressive licence (a2) in December 2017. I live in the middle of London and my property doesn't have a locked garage so I literally leave my bike on the road (but it's ALWAYS locked up like Fort Knox). I've recently discovered the only style of bike I'll ever want is a naked bike. I've sat on the Mt-07 & XSR700 (way too small), I started looking at the HD Street Rod (weird footpeg positioning), I've sat on the z800e (I dwarf the bike and my legs don't fit the tank comfortably) However, I've sat on the new 2018 Z900(a2 compliant) and it feels perfect.

Now here's my real problem. Although the bike is literally brand new and costs about £8,400.00 I am more than comfortable to finance it. The issue is though, most insurers don't even return quotes for me (prob based on my age, the number '900' and the fact that I've been riding for just over 2 years). I've had no accidents, no claims, as perfect as you could want you're record to be. But the insurers that do return quotes for me come back with crazy numbers for TPF&T like £5,000-£8,000. It's not a bike any human is brave enough to go for TPO and even then the quote still sits around £5,000. I've got trackers, alarms, ground anchors, more chains than Kunta Kinte (not racist, I too am black) and the bike is datatagged.