Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

How safe is it to park a motorbike?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

TheDaveStream
Two Stroke Sniffer

PostPosted: 22:18 - 29 Jan 2018    Post subject: How safe is it to park a motorbike? Reply with quote

Ok as you guys know I am new to all this, I know that you need to lock the front and rear wheel, I know that you chain it to something Unmovable...... but what if you cant?

Later in the week I am going to this pub (for a meal, I dont drink but they have an awesome carvery) https://www.google.co.uk/maps/@52.6763075,1.2241017,3a,75y,318.48h,95.27t/data=!3m7!1e1!3m5!1sM4JtlA0xpaEsSuhsRFTUcQ!2e0!6s%2F%2Fgeo2.ggpht.com%2Fcbk%3Fpanoid%3DM4JtlA0xpaEsSuhsRFTUcQ%26output%3Dthumbnail%26cb_client%3Dmaps_sv.tactile.gps%26thumb%3D2%26w%3D203%26h%3D100%26yaw%3D187.39699%26pitch%3D0%26thumbfov%3D100!7i13312!8i6656

Yeah thats a long link but it should show the street view of the pubs carpark

Last week I went with a mate (by car as I have done every week fr years. However, this time I really looked at where I could secure a motorbike... and I couldnt find anywhere. the railing you see in front of the front bays was full of cars, and would mean my bike would be esy to see from the road (no sense in advertising my brand new reg bike, or am I being too worried about that?)
the lights equally had cars around them.
In fact in the whole carpark was only a couple of spaces and none of them had anything to fasten my bike too.

So what do you do in that situation?
I thought about putting the disc alarm on the front and then using the chain through the back wheel simply on the floor so it couldnt be wheeled off, but it could be lifted into a van and off way before I could react or hear an alarm in a busy pub. Then again am I over thinking it?