Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

FITE: BikeSafe v IAM v RoSPA v DIAmond v ERS v BMF v ?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Powderhead
Trackday Trickster

PostPosted: 14:57 - 22 Mar 2018    Post subject: FITE: BikeSafe v IAM v RoSPA v DIAmond v ERS v BMF v ? Reply with quote

Background: I've been riding for about 3 years. Started on a 125, rode it for 2 years, binned it, and then bought an MT-07 a year ago. My riding is mainly commuting from Kingston upon Thames to central London, and the occasional weekend blast.

With a view to doing some more advanced training in the future, I've just booked a BikeSafe Workshop in June, starting at the Ace Cafe. I'm also going to buy a copy of Roadcraft, so I'll be learning and practising what I can from it myself anyway. If all else fails, it'll help me sleep Laughing

I know there's a bunch of different courses and assessments you can do, and from what I've read, it seems like IAM and RoSPA are the most popular (apart from BikeSafe).

The local IAM group (LAM) are bike-only, and fairly big. They also do a fair few weekend rides and overseas trips, which might be a laugh. However, it's mainly old blokes, and I'm not sure they really cover much town riding. My understanding is that it's mainly country lanes and A-roads, which are two things I hardly ever encounter in my day-to-day riding.

My local RoSPA group seem near-impossible to get hold of, so I might have to write that off before I even start. I've also read a lot of their literature, and it all seems very SPEED KILLS, MORE CAMERAS, SAVE KITTENS. Not sure I can deal with their ethics Laughing I'm also not particularly keen on the idea of a 3-year re-test, although I can understand the appeal.