Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Going self employed. Pitfalls/benefits

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> Dear Auntie BCF... Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

jimspeed
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 15:00 - 04 May 2018    Post subject: Going self employed. Pitfalls/benefits Reply with quote

Hi folks I'm a bit stuck at the moment.. I have worked at the same place for 25 + years but now I think it is time for a change.
I'm a mechanic and mainly work on vw group cars but the small family firm I originally worked for has grown and now there is just no respect or loyalty anymore.
I'm currently employed but seriously thinking about going self employed as I know someone who is starting up their own workshop mainly restoring and servicing old vws and he is quite keen for me to go work for him.
I have never been self employed but fancy a go at it I currently earn around 350 a week so not exactly brilliant money and should be able to better that but how does tax and vat ECT get calculated? And pitfalls against doing it ?
Hyosung cruise 125(passed test on, sold) Kawasaki el 252 (better than expected but sold on) Kawasaki GPZ500S first "big"bike.(sold) ZZR600 E5..Z750 2007,ER5, currently on a 2008 Enfield bullet electra x and loving it..
,"Alpha-9: Is there any correlation between dyno rod and dyno kits?"
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

Itchy
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 15:17 - 04 May 2018    Post subject: Re: Going self employed. Pitfalls/benefits Reply with quote

jimspeed wrote:
how does tax and vat ECT get calculated?

VAT

You can go flat rate or normal VAT.

Flat rate means you pay (looking at the VAT tables for mechanics) 8% of all your turn over gets paid to the tax man. In exchange for less paperwork you cannot claim VAT on inputs.