Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Yamaha SR125 custom exhaust advice?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

dartman5
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 13:53 - 16 May 2018    Post subject: Yamaha SR125 custom exhaust advice? Reply with quote

Hi guys, I've decided to dedicate this summer to bringing my old SR125 back up to scratch but in terms of mechanics I'm a complete noob so I will be working almost entirely from a Haynes manual!

What I want to understand but am having trouble getting to grips with is exhausts.

A few months ago in a car park I saw a 125 cruiser (it had an L plate) and the owner had fitted some kind of custom exhaust which produced the most incredible throbbing bass note I've ever heard from a 125 and since then I've wanted to recreate that on mine, just haven't had the time or money to think about it.

I'm really fussy about this though, a friend of mine customised his XT by taking out the bafflers and slash cutting the exhaust and it sounded f***ing dreadful - imho there's very few noises worse than a loud, clangy, shouty exhaust on a bike, if you can imagine the noise I'm trying to explain. What I really want is not necessarily ear-bleedingly loud but just very deep in pitch and throbbing rather than bubbly sounding like a Harley or something, and I wouldn't want it to look ridiculous like having an Akrapovic carbon fibre racing exhaust on a 90s cruiser lol!

The thing is, I've spent so long reading about different kinds of exhausts and baffles and everything else that I've kind of made it more confusing for myself. Can anyone basically explain how a slip on exhaust or baffle works and is everything kind of cross compatible? I can't find a single custom exhaust specifically made for an SR125 anywhere so could I technically pick up something like the Norman Hyde Toga and mount it to my bike, and how would I go about doing this?