Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

This might sound stupid, but I need it clearing up

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Guido
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 17:52 - 10 Jun 2018    Post subject: This might sound stupid, but I need it clearing up Reply with quote

Hi Guys,

Complete newbie here both to the forum and the world of motorcycling.
I’ve got my DA course booked for the back end of July.

Naturally, I’ve always wanted to do this, but couldn’t afford it so I’m stupid excited about finally getting on two wheels.

So yeah, I’ve been looking at bikes to buy for when I pass, I had my eyes on a few with the idea of starting on a small 500cc ish (cb500, er5 etc.) and building up as my skill level increases.

Thing is, i was out among a few bike riding folks and when I mentioned the plan they semi laughed and said “why don’t you get a proper bike, none of that 500 crap” and then proceeded to advise me to go for at least a 600cc (sv650, er6 etc)

I’m quite happy to ignore the ego talk, but I do worry that I’ll either get used to or tired of a 500cc fairly quickly or I at least won’t be able to keep up on road trips with fellow bikers with big bikes.

I don’t want to jump straight on and do 1000 mph, I understand it’s a learning curve and I have enough mechanical sympathy to not just screw the balls off whatever bike I can afford.

I do want to start off on the right footing though and give myself the best chance at learning to ride properly.

I’d be using it for a bit of commuting which is only 1 mile either way, but mostly for A road and B road rides, possibly the odd motorway.

So my question is really, is a 500 actually a big bike? Is it worth going bigger?

Sorry for the essay, any help is much appreciated!

arry
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 18:04 - 10 Jun 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote