BCF: Bike Chat Forums

New guy

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat
View previous topic : View next topic  

DirtyT
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 23:53 - 24 Jun 2018    Post subject: New guy Reply with quote

Hello all! Just signed on as I'm going to start "resurrecting" a "94 CB1000 Big One (Super Four on your side of Atlantic) shortly and may need some help. I just retired (I'm 66) .

I started riding in 1974 on a Triumph Trophy 250 single that I rode into scrap and sold. I last rode in 2012 when I went down on my Harley between a van and truck at approx. 50mph (wearing t-shirt, jeans, gloves, boots, and 3/4 helmet). The bike fell on me, ensuring road rash, broken hip, skull fracture, cracked cervical vertebra, and severe concussion. After 6 yrs, I no longer feel queasy when I look at my stored bikes (I own 6.....the CB1000, "02 Harley Dyna, '83 CB1100F, '82CB750F, '81CB750K, and "96 Kaw Vulcan 1500 - so its time to dust them off and get them running again.

The CB1000 was running well when I bought it (before my wreck), but it had been dropped on it's right side, ruining the orig. tank - it now sports a black "Super Four" tank from Germany. It's had a larger aftermarket cam and valve springs installed, along with a 6 speed transmission, a Two Brothers exhaust, and 37mm Keihin flatslide carbs. On the down side, the previous owner replaced the OEM signals with tiny aftermarket replacements, removed the grab handle from the tail and cut off it's mounting "ears" from the frame....F'n idiot.

He also replaced the OEM wheels with 17"ers from a CB1100XX, but neglected to shorten the kickstand - so when the stand is down, a slight bump or stiff wind can topple the bike. Fortunately, he saved the OEM wheels, so I'll put new rubber on them and not alter the kickstand.