BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Road Advice

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Konic
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 22:19 - 07 Jul 2018    Post subject: Road Advice Reply with quote

First time posting here so hello to everyone reading this.

I made my account on this forum to try and reach out to others for advice and help.

Short background on myself. I've been driving a car for around four years and a 125cc motorcycle with a CBT certificate for roughly 2 months.

If i'm driving my car or riding my motorbike (more so on the motorbike) i feel nervous and under pressure by other road users who are behind me, espeically if they are what I would deem as an "aggressive" driver, or someone who wants to just go faster than my pace or the speed limit of the road. I find this very stressful to deal with, espeically on my motorbike as i feel more vulnerable.

I've also found myself getting road rage and becoming VERY irritable and actually looking for a fight at times due to frustration and disbelief at how some road users can be so impatient and behave in such a way as if road laws do not exist, and the lack of respect shown to other road users.

How can I improve myself mentally to where I am not affected by tailgaters or people who seem to think speed limits do not apply to them? I want the confidence to not be a victim of other road users bullying or pressurising me to go faster on the roads. I've been struggiling with this for some time now, to the point were on some days, I get to work stressed out and full of frustration before the day as even begun.

How can I improve my situation? Any advice from experienced road users would really be appreciated. Thank you.

adam277
Spanner Monkey

PostPosted: 22:30 - 07 Jul 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never really had this issue on a bike.

My CB500 runs like shite atm so I rarely go over 60mph.