Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Suspected head gasket. Any other cause yamaha yp125r

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

marc1234
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 20:43 - 19 Aug 2018    Post subject: Suspected head gasket. Any other cause yamaha yp125r Reply with quote

I'm new to bikes and have someone helping irl.

I bought this bike as a non runner and was told it was a head gasket job.

I changed the head gasket but there is still water and oil mixing and looks like combustion going into the coolant.

Is it likely the head needs to be skimmed or something? is there any other explanation?

Nobby the Bastard
Harley Gaydar

PostPosted: 21:12 - 19 Aug 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could be the base gasket, which will mean pulling the cylinder off.

RhynoCZ
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 21:32 - 19 Aug 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

The head (or other place) might be cracked. Water pump propeller shaft seal?

marc1234
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 21:34 - 20 Aug 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

RhynoCZ wrote:
The head (or other place) might be cracked. Water pump propeller shaft seal?

I was wondering about that, a friend said he could smell petrol from the radiator filler and I could see faint what seemed to be smoke. is it possible that smoke or something like it could come from the oil?

Speedy23
Two Stroke Sniffer

PostPosted: 09:52 - 22 Aug 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you not check the block/head mating surfaces for flatness when you had it apart?

Teflon-Mike
tl;dr

PostPosted: 14:16 - 22 Aug 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why was the head-gasket blown to begin with?

This is the impertinent question you should have been asking at the beginning. It's not a moving part, its not a load bearing part, if the engine's any good it aught to last the engine's life-time.....