Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Brakes not working after changing pads

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Chrisjlm
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 20:18 - 05 Oct 2018    Post subject: Brakes not working after changing pads Reply with quote

Hello,

I changed the pads on my Yamaha xt 125 today, I can’t afford to pay someone to do it properly so I had to do it myself. After putting it back together I applied the brakes several times to push out the brake pistons into the correct posistion. The rear one is working just very weak and not road worthy. The front is almost non existent.

I’m sure it’s done properly and everything is as it should be.
Also when doing the front it leaked a lot of brake fluid so I was thinking this could be a reason?
But again I’m new to bikes and can’t afford to get a professional at the moment.

Thanks in advance.
Chris

MCN
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 20:26 - 05 Oct 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) Leaked fluid from where?
If some bell-end has topped up the brake reservoir as the pads wore down then the extra fluid will be displaced and 'leak' out when the pads push the pistons back in.
Or was the leak from the caliper? If it's from the caliper then you have a different Problem Houston

2) Did you fit O.E.M. pads or the 'exact' equivalent after-market pads.

Some pads are harder and therefore do not 'bite' as much on the disc.

They need a lot of heat to allow them be efficient.

3) Did you abrade the discs to remove old pad material from the surface?
The pad material is smeared over the disc as it disintegrates during braking. (Energy Exchange/Conversion stuff). This can prevent new pads from 'bedding in'.
You can bed-in (or burn-in) new pads by loading the brakes. It needs to be done gradually to prevent sudden temperature changes harming the pads and cetera.
You can google that shit.