Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Old man MarJay, that Old Man MarJay...

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

MarJay
But it's British!

PostPosted: 18:22 - 06 Oct 2018    Post subject: Old man MarJay, that Old Man MarJay... Reply with quote

As some of you know I've got a job in the old London Town, and being a Basingstoke resident I realised I needed a way to commute that wouldn't result in me going insane. I do occasionally take the train, but I've found that bike commuting works well.

Only downside is my Street Triple is a little too nice and a little too desirable to thieves for my commuting needs, so I thought about what kind of bike I should buy. I came up with this:

https://cdn.bcf.44bytes.net/files/vfr_small.jpg

Cost £1600 with panniers and top box. Needs a bit of TLC, the head bearings clunk like a clunky thing but it rides well and is comfortable for distance. I got very wet collecting it from Peterborough today, so I know it will handle the commute OK. Whether I will on the other hand remains to be seen!

It's not really an exciting bike, the power delivery is flat, the handling is neutral but it does keep the weather off, and it's comfy. I'm pretty happy with it!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

BenR
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 18:56 - 06 Oct 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

One of my all time favourite bikes if for the sound alone. Good buy for 1600 ponds.

Kawasaki Jimbo
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 19:50 - 06 Oct 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never been a fan of the tank bra but apart from that, rated a cool bargain. Thumbs Up
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

ThatDippyTwat
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 20:03 - 06 Oct 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote