Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Removing f*cked mixture screw

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

stirlinggaz
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 14:57 - 09 Nov 2018    Post subject: Removing f*cked mixture screw Reply with quote

Hi all,
Looks like previous owner of this tdr was a butcher by trade.
The air/fuel mixture screw is chewed to f*ck 😑
Is there a not so complicated way of removing one of these?
I though of grinding down the tip of of a screwdriver to "fatten" it up to try get some purchase or using a small left handed cobalt drill bit.
Any other suggestions?
These carbs are getting hard to get hold of second hand (mikuni vm26ss) so replacement is out of the question.

TIA

cheers,
GAZ
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

bugeye_bob
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 17:40 - 09 Nov 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im unsure how much room or how big the screw in question is, but would something like this work ?
https://www.toolstation.com/shop/p38732?r=googleshopping&rr=marin&utm_source=googleshopping&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=googleshoppingfeed&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI7N7z6N_H3gIV2YjVCh2BDwrHEAQYBSABEgIcx_D_BwE

the smallest one.

jaffa90
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 18:30 - 09 Nov 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any pics, is the housing damaged?

Tankie
Crazy Courier

PostPosted: 20:41 - 09 Nov 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strip the carb,then if you are still able to get a purchase on the offending screw heat the carb body up with HEATGUN , not a flame ,this should loosen the hold on the screw

Tankie
Crazy Courier

PostPosted: 20:49 - 09 Nov 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strip the carb,then if you are still able to get a purchase on the offending screw heat the carb body up with HEATGUN , not a flame ,this should loosen the hold on the screw

stinkwheel