Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

New Rider Insurance

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers
View previous topic : View next topic  

RAYK47
Nitrous Nuisance

PostPosted: 14:29 - 29 Nov 2018    Post subject: New Rider Insurance Reply with quote

Firstly Hi all.

I have my CBT n Friday 7th December but have already bought a 2017 Honda CB125F, so I am doing some research in preparation. So i just wanted to ask a question about insurance and in particularly the social or SDP and commuting classification.

I will not technically be using my bike for commuting but I will be riding to the train station. Would this require commuting added to the policy? I am assuming so but want to check.

Now i am a car driver of well over 20 years and this has never been something i have bothered about previously as the cost is generally no different in car insurance. However the bike quote goes up over 2 thirds if i add commuting to the policy.

Fizzoid
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 14:40 - 29 Nov 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought commuting on policies stated "to and from a place of work"

As I don't work at the train station, I said no

Could always call one of the companies and ask them?

Freddyfruitba...
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 14:43 - 29 Nov 2018    Post subject: Re: New Rider Insurance Reply with quote

RAYK47 wrote:
I will not technically be using my bike for commuting but I will be riding to the train station. Would this require commuting added to the policy?