Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

gpz600r renovation

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat
View previous topic : View next topic  

L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 17:17 - 04 Dec 2018    Post subject: gpz600r renovation Reply with quote

Hi, I am a newbie to BCF, I have just bought a GPZ600r, first registered 1985 on a C plate, the bike has been dry stored for about 8 years, its complete with a few damaged panels, tank is not connected and has a massive oil leak, looking at the engine it looks like drive shaft oil seal, but its fitted with a chain oil system, so until I get the engine out and clean it wont know for certain, this is my first Kawasaki refurb so will be asking questions later, will keep you informed on the progress, thanks Tony. will have to read about posting pics.

MarJay
But it's British!

PostPosted: 17:26 - 04 Dec 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shout in The Workshop if you need help, and post pics and a write up in the 'Show and Tell' forum.

Welcome to BCF! Thumbs Up Smile

Restoring that bike is a bit of a thankless one, as it's never going to be worth a lot, and I suspect it's got lots of issues. Even so, it should be rewarding, and hopefully won't break the bank. Good luck!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 17:41 - 04 Dec 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your reply, yes I know the bike wont be worth a lot when complete, but its just a winter project, I am 72 and recovering from bowl cancer but I have been into bikes all my life, raced for a few years and had a few years as a sidecar passenger, restored about 15 bikes over the years from bantams to a cr750, non of them worth a great deal but got them back on the road and not scrapped, I think I am going to enjoy my stay here, thanks.

MarJay
But it's British!

PostPosted: 17:50 - 04 Dec 2018    Post subject: Reply with quote