Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

15HP v 11HP 125's

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

AndyC1983
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 08:31 - 01 Feb 2019    Post subject: 15HP v 11HP 125's Reply with quote

Hi,

I am new to biking having completed my CBT a couple of months ago.

My plan is to get a 125 to gain a bit of experience riding and if I find I like it then go onto do my DAS in the summer.

Most of my experience would be gained on a commute into work. This is not long but does include a stretch on a straight national speed limit road (the one out of Plymouth towards Dartmoor for those who know it).

This road is uphill, dark and often foggy / wet with potholes and I would rather not be struggling up the hill at 40 mph with cars coming behind me at 60+ in poor visibility.

As such I have been looking at the 15hp (KTM Duke 125, Suzuki GSXS125 etc) rather than the 11hp (YBR etc) learner legals.

My question is, will there actually be a noticeable difference in performance between the 15hp and 11hp bikes in my situation or is skipping a 125 and doing DAS straight away the answer?

I am not so concerned with top speed but rather acceleration up to 60 on a moderate incline.

Any helpful advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Andy.

garth
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 08:57 - 01 Feb 2019    Post subject: Reply with quote

I vote do DAS and pick up, say, an sv650 for less than the combined cost of the 125 and the test.

diesel dog
Renault 5 Driver

PostPosted: 09:51 - 01 Feb 2019    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't answer the 11 v's 15bhp.

Maybe do the CBT to see if you like biking and if you do, then do the DAS then you'll have no worries about traffic behind you.

linuxyeti
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 09:52 - 01 Feb 2019    Post subject: Reply with quote